Jersey Festival of Words – Jack Meggitt-Phillips

THE BEAST AND THE BETHANY: BATTLE OF THE BEAST

Jack’s events are hugely popular with schools as he puts his amazing acting skills to good use and employs puppets for lively readings that introduce the audience to the adventures of 511-year-old Ebenenezer Tweezer and orphan Bethany.

This is the third beastly book in the deliciously gruesome and hilarious series by Jack Meggitt-Phillips. The beast, who has tried to eat Bethany twice and controlled Ebenezer Tweezer for 511 years, is now in prison. Even better, it seems to have lost its despicable mind and is pinky-winky promising to be a do-gooding beast, vomit out helpful gifts, and be besties with Bethany and Ebenezer. There’s really no sign of the old beast at all any more, as long as you don’t count that hungry belly which still needs feeding…

Outrageously funny and deliciously dark, this series is perfect for readers aged 8-12 and will appeal to fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket

‘Reads like a modern classic. Sharp, funny, original – I thought this was brilliant’ – Sam Copeland, author of the bestselling Charlie Changes into a Chicken.

Jack Meggitt-Phillips is an incredibly exciting new talent. He is an author, scriptwriter and playwright whose work has been performed at The Roundhouse and featured on Radio 4. He is scriptwriter and presenter of The History of Advertising podcast. 

PARTNER NETWORK WEBSITES

Condor Ferries
Jersey Heritage
Freedom Holidays
JERSEY HOSPITALITY ASSOCIATION
St Brelades College in Jersey

VIBRANT JERSEY GROUP

Treat
MN360Creations